Thought I'd share a pic of my new EVSE install.

Ford Focus Electric Forum

Help Support Ford Focus Electric Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve0512

Even though Ford hasn't built my car yet {shakes fist in air}. I didn't want to miss the December 31st deadline for the 2014 tax break for purchasing my EVSE . Since it was here and sitting in the box I thought I would install it. I added the voltage and current monitor because I was being nerdy.

H8RSvng.jpg

Nice! Do you mind sharing total costs for your EVSE including installation?

I paid $499 for the EVSE from Amazon with free shipping because I am a Prime member --> http://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MFVI8UG/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I paid $25 for the fiberglass Hoffman Enclosure with window. The back panel was $9. The voltage/current monitor was $14.60. All came off Ebay. I am an Electrician for Ford so I did the install myself. When I made the decision that I was going to order a 2015. I knew it would be delivered in the middle of winter. So last October I trenched through my back yard to install a 3/4 inch conduit out to my garage. When the house was built back in the 50's. They ran one 12 gauge underground cable to feed the garage. I had to convince the wife that it needed to be done back in October because the ground would be frozen when my car arrived. I ran a 60 amp 240 volt service out to my garage and installed a sub-panel out there. I ran 60 amps of power to cover me for any need I would have to charge an electric vehicle in the future. The #6 AWG wire was the most expensive part of the install. Because of two trees in my backyard I had to trench around the perimeter. 175 feet in total, times four conductors, the cost added up quickly. Copper wire is very expensive. The feed out to the garage was about $500 to $600 in materials. Shhh, don't tell my wife. All in all, I will be placing an estimated value of