A Few Suggestions ...

Ford Focus Electric Forum

Help Support Ford Focus Electric Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FFEGuy

I have a 2013 Focus Electric, built 3/13, Software version 4.29. It is an amazing machine, and I am still learning its features. I have several suggestions on common sense improvements, which I hope will be of interest to Ford and forum readers:

Charge % Display - Ford's Range Estimate is a good attempt at forecasting remaining range based on driving habits. However, it is greatly influenced by recent patterns, such as going up and down hills, leading to dubious predictions. For those of us with regular commuting destinations, per cent battery charge is a better measure for gauging range. This can be seen roughly on the Message Center battery "thermometer" display, but it is actually available as a number in the "My GO Time" screen, lost among all the "value charge" settings.

Request: Make the numerical Charge % available on the Message Center, perhaps as a footnote item.

Daytime Running Lights - These are a valuable safety feature in all but bright sunlight, though they do use some power. The FFE already has an automatic light sensor to turn on the headlights in the dark.

Request: Make the darkness sensor driver-adjustable so that it could be set to come on in overcast, low light conditions if desired. This would essentially give daytime running lights, while saving power in bright sunlight conditions.

Fresh Air - It is silly to have to open windows for fresh air or to clear the windshield. This is noisy and increases aerodynamic drag.

Request: Provide a straightforward way to set the cabin fan to bring outside air to the vents or to clear the windshield without using power for heating or cooling.