triangles
Posts: 1198
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:40 am
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Contact: Website

Re: LED's in Headlamps

Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:14 am

FYI if you really want the LEDs on all the time. If I remember correctly when you change the config in Focccus to "enable" DRL You can leave the parking lights on all the time and when you turn the car off they go off.
2014 Blue Candy FFE
http://www.fuelly.com/car/ford/focus/2014/triangles/303811 (since this forum doesn't allow BBcode in sigs)

121gigawatts
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 5:37 pm

Re: LED's in Headlamps

Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:08 pm

triangles wrote:FYI if you really want the LEDs on all the time. If I remember correctly when you change the config in Focccus to "enable" DRL You can leave the parking lights on all the time and when you turn the car off they go off.
I dont have the "enable DRL" option.. Not that I see anyways. I looked in the manual and it just references them "if equipped" with no instructions. I did read that combustion Foci have the exact same headlights as us, but in Canada Ford was mandated to retrofit the headlights with brighter LEDs for the DRL function.. So if you look in the used market you might find one. On the ST forum, they say your car needs to be reprogrammed to get the brighter ones to work, but I recall reading somewhere that someone bought a used set of ST3 headlights and one was brighter than the other. Must have been Canadian.

EDIT: I thought you misspelled Focus, didn't realize there's a coding tool for a FFE. I'll do some googling..

triangles
Posts: 1198
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:40 am
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Contact: Website

Re: LED's in Headlamps

Tue Jan 22, 2019 6:47 am

Focccus: It's a super buggy Russian program. Be careful it may cause your car to brainwash you into voting for Trump.. LOL. I usually have to run it several times before it completes the read without errors. It basically just edits the car computers configuration file telling the computer what hardware your car has. Once you get it to read the config you should save an unaltered copy of the original config so you can always go back to the stock config in case you inadvertently change something you didn't intend to. Once you finally get the program to read the config from the car you can simply change variables via drop downs. This is how to "enable" DRL:
Image
I use quotes for enable because the cars that actually have DRL have slightly different hardware. I would guess maybe an extra relay or two, but who knows? So enabling it in the config doesn't really enable it on the car. However you can sort of fake DRL by enabling it and leaving your parking lights on. When you turn the car off the parking lights turn off too when DRL is enabled so you don't accidentally leave them on and kill the 12V. I didn't like this so I put it back to stock config. Note: you can also enable global window open/close:
Image
Another neat but mostly useless feature that allows you to open or close all windows with your fob. I say it's mostly useless because while you can lock/unlock your car from a football field away, global open/close doesn't work much farther than about 20ft from your car.

Anyway back to Focccus. It will cause a multitude of errors and DTCs that may initially freak you out that you've possibly bricked your car. Have no fear these DTCs are easily cleared with Forscan.
2014 Blue Candy FFE
http://www.fuelly.com/car/ford/focus/2014/triangles/303811 (since this forum doesn't allow BBcode in sigs)

121gigawatts
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 5:37 pm

Re: LED's in Headlamps

Wed Jan 23, 2019 5:04 am

triangles wrote:Focccus: It's a super buggy Russian program. Be careful it may cause your car to brainwash you into voting for Trump.. LOL. I usually have to run it several times before it completes the read without errors. It basically just edits the car computers configuration file telling the computer what hardware your car has. Once you get it to read the config you should save an unaltered copy of the original config so you can always go back to the stock config in case you inadvertently change something you didn't intend to. Once you finally get the program to read the config from the car you can simply change variables via drop downs. This is how to "enable" DRL:
Image
I use quotes for enable because the cars that actually have DRL have slightly different hardware. I would guess maybe an extra relay or two, but who knows? So enabling it in the config doesn't really enable it on the car. However you can sort of fake DRL by enabling it and leaving your parking lights on. When you turn the car off the parking lights turn off too when DRL is enabled so you don't accidentally leave them on and kill the 12V. I didn't like this so I put it back to stock config. Note: you can also enable global window open/close:
Image
Another neat but mostly useless feature that allows you to open or close all windows with your fob. I say it's mostly useless because while you can lock/unlock your car from a football field away, global open/close doesn't work much farther than about 20ft from your car.

Anyway back to Focccus. It will cause a multitude of errors and DTCs that may initially freak you out that you've possibly bricked your car. Have no fear these DTCs are easily cleared with Forscan.
This all sounds cool, but I'm a mac guy. Not going to buy a laptop just to do this. One day.

scottt
Site Moderator
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 6:00 am

Re: LED's in Headlamps

Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:08 am

121gigawatts wrote:
triangles wrote:Focccus: It's a super buggy Russian program. Be careful it may cause your car to brainwash you into voting for Trump.. LOL. I usually have to run it several times before it completes the read without errors. It basically just edits the car computers configuration file telling the computer what hardware your car has. Once you get it to read the config you should save an unaltered copy of the original config so you can always go back to the stock config in case you inadvertently change something you didn't intend to. Once you finally get the program to read the config from the car you can simply change variables via drop downs. This is how to "enable" DRL:
Image
I use quotes for enable because the cars that actually have DRL have slightly different hardware. I would guess maybe an extra relay or two, but who knows? So enabling it in the config doesn't really enable it on the car. However you can sort of fake DRL by enabling it and leaving your parking lights on. When you turn the car off the parking lights turn off too when DRL is enabled so you don't accidentally leave them on and kill the 12V. I didn't like this so I put it back to stock config. Note: you can also enable global window open/close:
Image
Another neat but mostly useless feature that allows you to open or close all windows with your fob. I say it's mostly useless because while you can lock/unlock your car from a football field away, global open/close doesn't work much farther than about 20ft from your car.

Anyway back to Focccus. It will cause a multitude of errors and DTCs that may initially freak you out that you've possibly bricked your car. Have no fear these DTCs are easily cleared with Forscan.
This all sounds cool, but I'm a mac guy. Not going to buy a laptop just to do this. One day.
Macs can run Windows.....
2015 Magnetic FFE (aka Magneto) - Retired
2017 Kona Blue FFE (aka King Kona) - Current

121gigawatts
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 5:37 pm

Re: LED's in Headlamps

Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:32 pm

scottt wrote: Macs can run Windows.....
If you own a copy of Windows. I'm not willing to buy an entire OS just to do this. Its probably the same price to buy an entire used laptop with Windows pre-installed.

amped
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 3:31 pm

Re: LED's in Headlamps

Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:59 pm

121gigawatts wrote:
scottt wrote: Macs can run Windows.....
If you own a copy of Windows. I'm not willing to buy an entire OS just to do this. Its probably the same price to buy an entire used laptop with Windows pre-installed.
I believe Wine ( https://www.winehq.org/ ) is available for MacOS - it might be worth a try. On my Linux box, focccus will at least start up and run on top of the Wine compatibility layer but I haven't actually tried to connect to my car and edit settings.

triangles
Posts: 1198
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:40 am
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Contact: Website

Re: LED's in Headlamps

Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:44 am

Piracy, the easy choice!®

:lol: In all seriousness windows is free. You can download the ISO from microsoft and the tools to put it on a thumb drive or burn it to a DVD if you like. The only drawback is you will have an annoying watermark on the screen until you register it (pay for it). If all you're using it for is to run a couple of diagnostic apps then you don't ever have to register it. This guy does exactly this with his computer test rigs http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3bezYerYxQ
2014 Blue Candy FFE
http://www.fuelly.com/car/ford/focus/2014/triangles/303811 (since this forum doesn't allow BBcode in sigs)

Return to “Modifications & Accessories”