Newbie here ... ! Basic Questions

Ford Focus Electric Forum

Help Support Ford Focus Electric Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PlainTom

Hello all ... is any body still out there?

We just acquired a 2017 FFE to use as our 'around town' car, havinf recently turned in a leased 2020 Chevy Bolt EV Premium after driving it for ~3 years. Our other car is a 2023 VW ID.4 ProS AWD. So, after the Bolt & the ID.4, getting the FFE feels a bit like back-revving from Windows 11 to Win7.

We're confident the car will serve its intended purpose. But we've gotten used to seeing certain informational elements concerning battery status, usage, and charging data that we can't seem to find in the FEE displays.

For instance, we're used to seeing how many kW are coming into the battery when charging; we're used to seeing an estimate of remaining capacity and a Guess-o-Meter estimate of range in miles at all time. We see something called Budget which purports to indicate available range, but the logic escapes us.

Do we need simply to rely on our own arithmetic and frequent charging in our garage, or have we overlooked useful features?
Also, is the FFE similar to other EV's in communicating much detail thru its OBD2 port such that can hook up a tablet to collect the type of info we're hoping to see?

Cheers!

You can get some of the basic information summarized on the screen left of the speedometer. Use the top left steering wheel controls to get the display to show battery and usage data and then you can use the up and down on the steering wheel controls to get a display that shows a good amount of detail: power consumed by climate control / other, battery percentage, a graphic showing instantaneous consumption per mile with a white bar across showing where you need to keep your consumption to get the range indicated.