2014 Focus with a two year old 34kw battery pack DOA 4sale

Ford Focus Electric Forum

Help Support Ford Focus Electric Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cthecrest

Hello!

Well, my mint condition 2014 is sitting here with a full battery pack but the contactor(s) are bad. Can anyone fix this baby? Or, at least let me pay you to show me. I am very capable, being a mechanic all my life.
I rebuild antique typewriters for a living.

I pay generously for good help.. I'll even get the car to you.

Chuck Furrer 630 408-5400 cell

It's a lot of work but it is doable. Keep us updated on how it goes. If you give up, let me know before you junk it, I might be interested.

I've done this work and it isn't hard. I have instructions on the Ford Focus Electric Owners' Group on Facebook. Go to that and and request to be a member. Once in, search P0AA1 and look for my writeup. Pictures and everything. Here is an idea of what I did.
-Buy 1K high voltage gloves
-Buy an insulated metric socket set
-remove the rear bench seat. I don't think I took the backs off, but it would have been a little easier.
-Take the two service disconnects off
-Remove the plastic cover behind the rear seat.
-Remove the trunk liner that covers the battery.
-Remove all the bolts around the battery. A few, in the corners, are a different length, so keep a note of what goes where.
-The metal cover is also glued, so you will need to use something thin to break the seal and pull the cover off. Not too hard.
-On the driver's side, you will see the orange cover over the contactors. The cover comes off easily, but you will need to do a bit of disassembly to get the bus bars off.