Charge Time and Energy Consumption

Ford Focus Electric Forum

Help Support Ford Focus Electric Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OC Dan

Admittedly, I am not an electrical engineer. So, I'm wondering.....if charging at 110v takes 10-14 hrs based on my consumption, which often rolls me into higher electric company rate tiers, would it be less expensive to install a 220v charger so that all charging would been taken care of during off peak times? Also, if I'm able to charge in say 2 hours @220v, instead of 10 hrs at 110v, am I using less energy. I assume energy consumption is exactly the same, just being done in a much shorter time frame, but again I didn't graduate from MIT. :D

OC Dan said:
Admittedly, I am not an electrical engineer. So, I'm wondering.....if charging at 110v takes 10-14 hrs based on my consumption, which often rolls me into higher electric company rate tiers, would it be less expensive to install a 220v charger so that all charging would been taken care of during off peak times? Also, if I'm able to charge in say 2 hours @220v, instead of 10 hrs at 110v, am I using less energy. I assume energy consumption is exactly the same, just being done in a much shorter time frame, but again I didn't graduate from MIT. :D

Think of the electrical charger as a water hose. The 110v charger gives you water at a much slower rate than the 220v charger. But, the total amount of water is just the same.

Now, the 220v charger may be a bit more efficient than the 110v charger; somebody else here would need to comment on that.

BTW, you don't need to be an MIT grad to understand how these things work. They are actually rather simple, far simpler than an ICE.

Keith

OC Dan said:
Charging at 110V or 220V will consume the SAME amount of electricity, just at different "speeds". (Technically, there may be a slight difference in efficiency, but for the sake of this discussion it is negligible.)