Leasing in San Francisco Bay Area

Ford Focus Electric Forum

Help Support Ford Focus Electric Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattm

Hi guys,

(I have done some homework, but I am still a complete newbie to leasing...)

Could you help me estimate a reasonably good lease deal please?

Here is my estimate so far:

- MSRP = $29,170 (base configuration with no options)
- Residual = $13,418 (46% MSRP)
- Cap cost = $24,170 (It's my understanding that ~24K is a reasonable purchase price for FFE these days - based on this forum and misc online resources such as TrueCar.)
- Money factor = 0.00125 (3% - is this too conservative?)
- Term = 36 months
- Payment (base) = (24,170 - 13,418) / 36 = $298
- Payment (interest) = (24,170 + 13,418) * 0.00125 = $47

So the total payment comes down to $345 + tax. I can't believe it's that bad. I must be missing something.

Please help.

I would also appreciate if you could share the details of your leases. I will make sure to post mine back to this community as soon as I pick mine up.

I suggest using the payment estimator in Ford's 2015 Focus Build and Price web page:

http://bp3.ford.com/2015-Ford-Focus#/Technology/

You have to go through at least the first few steps of the build process to get to a button that takes you to the payment estimator.

Using that, I come up with $244/mo+tax, $889 due at signing for a 36 month, 12K mi/yr lease. Note that there is an $8000 incentive applied when leased from Ford.

I suspect that one should be able to negotiate a better deal than this once there are more units in stock at the dealerships.

What you are missing is Ford's frequent big lease cash offers.
When I leased my 2014 FFE a few months back in Sep 2014, they had a $11,000 lease cash deal that brought my zero down 3 year lease to only ~$250/month + local sales tax.