An online Ford Focus Electric Forum discussion group

It is currently Sun Mar 24, 2019 3:17 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:10 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Ukraine
Hi everyone.
I've just got my first EV! Used FFE 2013.
It was bought on manheim and imported here to Ukraine.

I have several issues that i can't figure out by myself and would like to ask you guys.
ValueCharge and GoTime profiles settings aren't get saved for some reason.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_I3LeDaKlIY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yrl36jCPh4E

I have an idea what could be the reason, but i'm not sure:
Could it be like that when you use MyKey key? Owners manual doesn't mention that, but who knows.. Can anyone confirm that?

And here we come to my another main issue: i have one key only and i've managed to screw it up with that "MyKey" thing :cry: So now i have all those restrictions and can't figure out how to get rid of them. I tried to turn off MyKey with Focuus app but had some error while reading from the car's memory (i suppose it is obd adapter issue).

Also, i'm interested in getting phone app work with my car. I registered to myfordmobile, added car by VIN and after that i have to get some verification code on the car's display?, i suppose... The thing is, i'm pretty sure, modem connection doesn't work here and i tried to use wi-fi connection but without any success. Any messages from the car...

But first thing first: why i can't save those settings? Any thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:40 am
Posts: 1033
Location: Toledo, Ohio
It may take as many as 30+ tries to get focccus to read/write. Keep trying. Of course it could also be your OBDII adapter. I used a USB one and had to manipulate a port setting on my computer to get it to work more reliably. It still fails often but I have fewer repeat attempts before it finally works. For some reason while reading and writing mine tended to error when the climate control would come on so while reading/writing I'd immediately turn off the climate control when it comes on. Not sure if this actually helped or not but it seemed to. Don't forget to use FORScan to clear all the error codes generated by focccus. The go times and value charge settings are stored in the TCU (telematics control unit). Sometimes it stops responding. If you can figure out the proper fuse pull it out and then put it back in to do a hard reset on the TCU. If you're not sure which fuse you can also just unhook the 12V battery for a while. Unfortunately if you want to add extra keys you will need to have a dealer do that for you. There is no way for an end user to program new keys. The dealer would have to connect to the RFA (remote function actuator) and delete all keys associated with the car and then add all the key fobs you have to the car. The MyFordMobile app only works thru the TCU's modem. So if your car doesn't have a mobile connection it will never work. Also the modem was replaced under a recall since it used to use AT&T's 2G network that was shut down at the end of 2016. You should be able to register the car with the vin on [url]owner.ford.com[/url]. If the TCU wasn't already replaced it would show up as and outstanding FSA (recall). You may yet have some luck. Some FFEs exported to Jordan have worked with my Ford mobile or at least it showed its location on the former US owners myfordmoble app.

_________________
2014 Blue Candy FFE
http://www.fuelly.com/car/ford/focus/2014/triangles/303811 (since this forum doesn't allow BBcode in sigs)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:10 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Ukraine
Thanks triangles.
I've tried several of whose obdII adapters, bluetooth and usb, based on elm327. But i've never went as far as 30 attempts :)
I'm going to get a better one (according to comments) based on els27. Also, i might try ask dealer for some tools. It is funny and sad story at the same time: our dealers don't have any EVs officially, so they've never seen any of them and don't have any tools, apps, skills, etc.
I asked them about my case and all they can say is: "you may order a computer diagnostic and we will try to do something by without any warranty".
They can't program second key, because they don't have keys like this and have some doubts that european key will program successfully. Transponder frequencies might differ. In this case I'll probably get a car without any key at all.

As for TCU and fuse - i definitely should try that.
Quote:
The MyFordMobile app only works thru the TCU's modem.

It's sad to hear. I don't think AT&T connection works here.. We still have 2G networks, but GSM frequencies might be different and roaming might be the issue. Also it is almost 5 years old and exported form the USA, so who pays for it?
By the way, does anyone know whether TCU have regular SIM card inside? Is it possible to change mobile operator to a local one?

I have such item on the owner.ford.com :
Quote:
FSA Title: EMBEDDED MODEM REPLACEMENT
Field Service Action Number: 15N04

so i'm still on 2G modem, right?

In general we have a lot of Nissan Leafs, very limited number of FFEs, Fiat 500e and even some Teslas here. All of them don't have remote access features, official service, spare parts, etc.. but people like them and i like my new old FFE as well. It is completely different experience in comparison to ICE vehicles. But without government incentives like you have and taxes it is impossible to sell new EVs here. Price would be somewhere close to 40k for cars like FFE or leaf. So the only option for now is to import used or even salvaged cars from the USA or Europe.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 6:00 am
Posts: 291
I had the exact same issue. My TCU had to be replaced to fix it.

_________________
2015 Magnetic FFE (aka Magneto) - Retired
2017 Kona Blue FFE (aka King Kona) - Current


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:40 am
Posts: 1033
Location: Toledo, Ohio
kokurlia wrote:
Thanks triangles.
I've tried several of whose obdII adapters, bluetooth and usb, based on elm327. But i've never went as far as 30 attempts :)

FYI I use this with my laptop. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01F0GVBWY/ Supposedly the ODBLink MX wireless works but I'm too cheap to spend $80 https://www.amazon.com/ScanTool-426101-OBDLink-Bluetooth-Professional/dp/B006NZTZLQ
It is possible to program key fobs to some '11 and earlier ford focus with FORScan software. Maybe they will update it someday to allow programming with our FFEs.
kokurlia wrote:
They can't program second key, because they don't have keys like this and have some doubts that european key will program successfully. Transponder frequencies might differ. In this case I'll probably get a car without any key at all.

The ford service computer should be able to access the RFA module. I believe the way it works is that the serial numbers or codes for each fob is stored in the RFA module. When reprogramming for additional fobs, all fobs stored in the RFA are cleared and then each fob to be used with the car is paired or somehow entered into the RFA module. I'm not 100% certain how this works but this is what I gather from reading about it. I know they had the FFE in Europe, Might be worth while to load your FFE on a trailer and haul it to another country where they were available and have a dealer there fix you up with extra fobs.
The tiny numbers along the top (white on black) are what you need to match up with any new fobs. It's been a while so I don't remember which groups are the important ones. You can probably figure it out by searching on the "focus fanatics" forum.
Image
kokurlia wrote:
It's sad to hear. I don't think AT&T connection works here.. We still have 2G networks, but GSM frequencies might be different and roaming might be the issue. Also it is almost 5 years old and exported form the USA, so who pays for it?
By the way, does anyone know whether TCU have regular SIM card inside? Is it possible to change mobile operator to a local one?

I have such item on the owner.ford.com :
Quote:
FSA Title: EMBEDDED MODEM REPLACEMENT
Field Service Action Number: 15N04

so i'm still on 2G modem, right?

Yeah I don't know about the network frequencies and what not. I'm gonna guess without the new TCU you likely have 0 probability of getting MFM to work. You are correct if it shows 15N04 you still have the 2G TCU. I have no idea what the TCU even looks like to know if it even has a sim card. All I know is it's in the back of the car somewhere and the fuse for it at least in my '14 is also in the rear. I pulled the fuse for mine and that's how I discovered go times and value charging are dependent on the TCU as they both stopped working until I put the fuse back in. As far as who pays for it? good question. The first 5 years of the service are included in the car purchase and it's supposed to be a billed service after that but I haven't heard of anyone getting billed for it yet. I figured it was tied to the US AT&T network. That's why I was surprised that it apparently worked for some cars exported to Jordan.

_________________
2014 Blue Candy FFE
http://www.fuelly.com/car/ford/focus/2014/triangles/303811 (since this forum doesn't allow BBcode in sigs)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:10 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Ukraine
Thanks for advice.
I pulled the TCU fuse out and back again and now i have go time and value charge setting enabled. Will see how it works.

Unfortunately, mobile connection doesn't seem to work. At least i can't see any messages while trying to add vehicle to mfm. Should there be some icons, logs, status messages about TCU connection?

MyKey thing is still in progress. Also i think that it would be great to get the same key as mine, that will definitely fit my car. In this case i will be able to program both of them and all my troubles will go away. (You know, that programming procedure requires at least two keys.) Does anyone know how to find useless (used) key for FFE 2013? Ordering here at dealer would cost me a lot of money (briefly estimation is "more than $350"). So I thought it would be great to find someones used key for reasonable amount of money. Anyway it's just my thoughts..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 7:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:40 am
Posts: 1033
Location: Toledo, Ohio
When you put the vin in the app it goes to Ford's servers. Fords servers have the ESN of the modem associated with the car's VIN so that it knows where to send the confirmation to. The confirmation is then sent to the car over the mobile network and a message pops up on the car's screen asking to confirm the paring with MFM. This process takes about 24-48 hours and that is assuming your car can actually connect to the mobile network. Since ford knew the AT&T 2G network went away it wouldn't surprise me if Ford automatically deactivated all the 2G modems such that even if there was a 2G network for it to connect to, the modem is no longer active.

kokurlia wrote:
(You know, that programming procedure requires at least two keys.) Does anyone know how to find useless (used) key for FFE 2013? Ordering here at dealer would cost me a lot of money (briefly estimation is "more than $350"). So I thought it would be great to find someones used key for reasonable amount of money. Anyway it's just my thoughts..


The two key requirement isn't necessarily applicable. When programming a key with ford's tool connected to the computer I'm 99% sure you can program 1 up to the max number of keys which I think is either 4 or 8. Where the 2 key requirement comes in is that on some Fords you can go thru a convoluted series of button/pedal presses and holding the fobs up to a sensor to program additional fobs. This does not apply to our FFE's or at least the '14 and earlier. Not sure about the '15 and '16. I believe it is applicable to the '17 as in you can program a 3rd + fobs if you have 2 already programmed keys. I learned this the hard way as I read the 2 fob requirement and so I picked up a 3rd spare fob second hand only to learn that it wasn't possible to do it myself. The stealership wanted $$$ to program the 3rd key only adding to my rage. Since it was a spare I figured it would lay around until I needed it. Fortunately my RFA module went bad under warranty and I gave all 3 fobs to my dealer to pair with the new RFA :D. As far as spare fobs. There are a few online places that will sell them but you may not get what you need. I got mine on ebay making sure the part number and revision number were the same as the fobs I already had. I don't remember which numbers were important but if you search on the Focus Fanatics forum about "intelligent access key" you should find what you need.

_________________
2014 Blue Candy FFE
http://www.fuelly.com/car/ford/focus/2014/triangles/303811 (since this forum doesn't allow BBcode in sigs)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:10 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Ukraine
It's kind of a funny story.
Each step further makes more questions :)

Now a can set GoTime. It is good. But i can't notice it's working.
I set it 9:00 today's morning. The car was plugged in from the evening. It was -8°C (17°F). I did wait for 9:03 and checked the car. Ventilation fan was working at high speed. I was almost happy at that moment, but when i came in to the cabin - there was freezing cold inside.

It seems like when i do autostart from keyfob it makes the same thing - just makes some noise and runs ventilation without actually heating.

When i "start engine" it starts increasing temperature, so in a few minutes it is nice and warm inside... I though it should heat the cabin before i start driving. That is the point of all that thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:40 am
Posts: 1033
Location: Toledo, Ohio
There is a setting for how you want to precondition the cabin for go times. Maybe you didn't have this set correctly. Likewise somewhere on the in car menus there is a setting for what the car does when you remote start. It's been years but I think I set mine to "auto." In "auto" it heats when it's cold outside and AC when it's warm outside. Maybe you don't have these settings right? As Carbuff mentioned, are you L1 or L2 charging?

_________________
2014 Blue Candy FFE
http://www.fuelly.com/car/ford/focus/2014/triangles/303811 (since this forum doesn't allow BBcode in sigs)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
© Ford Focus Electric Forum - part of the MyElectricCarForums.com Group